Family Life Logo and Banner
"What you plant and nurture in the early stages will come to bear fruit in the later stages."
-Family Christian Love
Banner includes image of Family
View Cart
Site Map
"It is important for parents to take their children’s needs into consideration during the different stages of development in learning capacity, in social skills, and in their intellectual and physical capacity."

Young Children
The years from 1-12 are the golden years of childhood. The young children from 3-7 acquire three virtues, obedience, orderliness and sincerity as they approach the age of reason. They seek to please their parents as well as act in precisely the way innocent young children act. They are a treasure and an opportunity for patience but mostly they are a delight and take readily to things related to religious practice.

When addressing their child's educational issue parents most often ask, "Is this normal?" Some of the general characteristics of the learning stages in order to help parents find some perspective for their particular child. Of course these are not absolutes but generalities, which offer a point of reference. The phase known as "mid-childhood" extends, approximately speaking, from the age of six and a half to the age of nine. At this point in the child's life, he is ready to discover the world and how it really works. While he still likes to pretend, he is also ready to accept the objective truth, use his reasoning skills, and accept real facts without undue emotion.

Late Childhood
This stage of psychological development lasts from the age of nine to eleven in girls, and from nine to twelve in boys. It is a phase of harmony and balance, which is distinct from the stages before or afterward.

The child's way of viewing the world changes in this stage. He now views it more objectively than before. He begins to distinguish himself as apart from it.